In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

Music in general it's something spiritual, it's may get you out of this world to the world of the tunes and magic. In the recent years, the new generation as whole have favoured more the other types of music (the modern music) such as pop, rock, house, etc. Despite the past generation who focused more on the classical music, there is a lot of things that lead this (thing) to be much more wider such as the technology and globalization who play the big role on this subject. Beside that, there is a voice who insist the youngers to play the classical music though it is something from our culture and we shouldn't leave it disappear. And the other voices who speak about the independency of choices. In the one hand, like we said above, the technology and globalization playing the big role in this subject. Firstly, with the technology the youngers found all the tools to play and listen to all the types of music. That give them several choices and give them all freedom to choose whatever they like. For example, smartphones make everything in hand for the teenagers. Now they can explore every single singer in this planet. So they have a wide choices. Secondly, we can't deny the role of globalization on this topic. The globalization makes the world as a small village. In this case, people from Australia have the opportunity now to discover and listen to the African music just by a click on the mouse. Furthermore, the globalization give another chance to the youngest talented to spread their talents among the globe and create a new type of music and make it cosmopolitan. In the other hand, in the last ten years, some voices from different corner of the world have started to urged and encouraged the youngest to play and listen to classical music. Furthermore, they succed to attract few of them, but the majority doesn't give any interest about it. Moreover, among this tugging between the voice which encouraged the youngers to listen to the classic music and the voice who believe in the freedom of choice, the teen-agers found themselves in the middle of the storm. In a result, that doesn't help them at all, it's clearly not helpful. In last, we can't deny the artistic and beauty of the classical music and how the earlier singers made a wonderful job in it. But that doesn't give the right to the others to judge and push the youngers to play ot listen to something didn't like. Everyone has his own choice and this is why, we humankind are different from other creatures.