Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

The growing number of vehicles and reckless driving are the major causes of increasing road accidents these days. Therefore some people believe that retaking driving test after every 5 year should become mandatory so that people must be aware about the traffic rules and some critics argue with this view as they think that periodically retaking driving test after every 5 years will be a waste of time and valuable money of the individuals. Additionally it will also put extra burden on the authorities. On the brighter side, enforcing the law of retaking driving test after every 5 years can remarkably benefit people. Firstly because of progressive technology in construction of new newly shaped roads and streets, abolishing some useless road rules and introducing new one is unavoidable with retaking the driving test. People get trained with the new rules and enhance thin driving skills which results in an effective way to prevent road accidents. For instance, an article published in Hindustan times has proved that there is a dramatic decrease in road mishaps by incorporating driving test rule. As result drivers get the opportunity to update themselves with the traffic laws. Furthermore, this test will help to figure out the driving skills of those people who just give exam for one time to obtain a driving license for sake of identification document and do not drive that much. Hence retaking the test after every 5 years will utterly prove to be a blessing in disguise as it educate people and help in reducing accidents. On the darker side, it would be costly for the people to retake their driving test every 5 years, as a result they consider it as a complete wastage of their time and money. In addition to this, retaking the driving test can also put financial burden in the government as numerous test centre and more manpower is required for smooth working. For example, Japan government spend nearly 25% of its annual financial budget in establishing and maintaining the driving test centre center. Hence due to these reasons this implementation is considered disadvantageous. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of retaking test rule, it can be considered as an investment. In fact not only it address some driving issues but also it can have many long term useful consequences.