Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

There is a popular view that it should be mandatory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. This essay will further discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this perspective. I believe the merits outweigh the demerit of this view. The primary merit of this perspective is that drivers will have to revise the latest updates in traffic mandate every time they take the evaluation. For example, due to the constant updates of the transportation laws to fit the latest road transport situation on roads, the government can make sure that drivers are well versed with the updated mandate of transportation when they take retests. The Secondary merit is that the people will drive with an extra focus to avoid traffic violations as they have to present their latest report of violations committed to the road transport authority every time. To illustrate this, citizens holding blacklisted driving licenses cannot renew their license. Hence, the advantages can be summarized as a revision of traffic laws by drivers every instance they take a retest as well as driving carefully on roads. However, the main drawback is that the nation has to put more resources at the drive testing site for allowing every citizen to retake the driving evaluation every time. For instance, the Indian government spends about ten thousand rupees on every driving assessment for inspecting every test taker's driving skills and as well as knowledge to understand transportation signals. Additionally, some people can find repeated attempts at driving evaluation, frustrating. Therefore, the drawbacks include elevated expenses to conduct such tests as well as irritation experienced by assessment takers to take such tests repeatedly. To conclude, there are merits and demerits in making a mandatory rule that everyone should retake the driving test every five years. While advantages include revision of the latest road transport laws by everyone and increased attention to driving, the disadvantages are the huge expense of a nation's resources and wealth. So, I believe the merits outweigh the demerit of this perspective