In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, due to the advanced technology, we can easily try numerous activities, and purchase various products online. While, some people argue that there are numerous drawbacks to this development, others believe that there are far more benefits. This essay will discuss this issue from both perspectives and I will draw my conclusion. On the one hand, there are some grounds to support the view that increasing demand for online shopping is concerning. To begin with, more and more people are isolating themselves from the society. In other words, an increasing number of people are staying at home, and there is no social interaction with their friends and family. In fact, many experts suggest that one of the main reasons for a rise of patients with depression is the Internet, as the internet cuts off the social connections. Thus, the merge of the internet might cause mental issues for some people. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that this trend benefits us in numerous ways. First of all, people can easily access useful contents via the Internet. To elaborate, people can watch various documentaries and academic videos to support their study and revision. For instance, due to national lockdown, students and teachers can have online lessons using applications on the Internet. As a result, with various online contents being provided, young adults who are involved in education programs will benefit from this development. In addition, the Internet provides various opportunities for some companies. These Days, it is a common way to communicate with buyers from different countries through online applications such as Zoom. This allows some companies to expand their business in other nations, increasing their profit. In the end, it is likely to benefit some people as their income is also going to increase. To conclude, we should not ignore the disadvantages of this issue. However, from my perspective, I believe that the advantages are much more significant than the demerits.