Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime, while others feel that crime is being tackled effectively now. rdlp

In the modern world, it is highly debatable whether the existing preventive actions are enough to reduce the rate of crime. While some argue that the situation is stable and no more activities are required, other people claim that there are still areas to improve. The following essay will examine both these statements, and I will also explain why I believe the second opinion is a valid one. To begin with, the development of information technologies helps to improve drastically the situation with criminal activities all over the world. To put it differently, nowadays there is a variety of gadgets, which are widely used to proactively monitor delinquent behaviours, and many of them serve as a deterrent for people to commit a crime. To illustrate this, video cameras on roads are set in a multitude of countries, so drivers usually do not exceed the speed because they understand that it will be recorded. As a result, the rate of car accidents has been significantly reduced in many areas, as technologies keep people from wrong-doings. On the other hand, when it comes to preventive actions to stop criminal activities, there are still a few social projects, which are aimed to keep humans from the justice system. In other words, I strongly believe that governments should pay more attention to social organisations, which work with difficult people who can be treated as potential offenders. As a case in point, some people can not tackle their financial complications, so the only way for them to survive is to commit a crime, and state organisations should shift their emphasis to such groups of citizens. Thus, regular counselling sessions with these humans, as well as valid financial support will potentially be a key to stop future offendings. In conclusion, we are all too familiar with the social dilemma regarding the lever of crime nowadays. Whereas some state that governments and non-state organisations can tackle this problem effectively, I totally believe that there are many strong tools and approaches which should be taken into consideration. Had governments altered their attitude to social activities to support people in their difficult days, it would have been drastically improved the situation with criminals.