Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, but other people think that it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen at TV and the internet. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is a common idea that visiting some countries is the only way to get knowledge about the other places and cultures. While nowadays, given that the Internet and TV resources rapidly evolved, most people share an idea that all knowledge obtained while travelling can be obtained from online and broadcast programs as well. Although, both ideas have its solid and weak arguments. On the one hand, nothing compares to the travelling. Obviously, when you discover some new place while you are really there, you can see, hear, smell and taste it. Therefore, you gain totally new feelings and impressions which you would never get from the web pages or TV screens. For example, take Paris, you can know everything about the Paris and Eiffel Tower, but you hardly can see the overpopulated by tourist city centre, or the long queues to enter the Eiffel Tower, followed with big noise and high prices. Definitely, walking around some place has its own advantages over just listening or watching about it. On the other hand, today we have a variety of TV-shows, blogs, web services and channels about travelling, which provides us with sufficient information about all the aspects of life, culture, language and detailed description about the any interested area. For instance, there are thousands of YouTube videos about anything in the world. Consequently, you can learn from such videos almost everything, including language dialects, food, clothes, prices, tickets and even find a friend from there to talk. In my opinion, both viewpoints have its followers according to their conditions. Undoubtedly, if you can travel it is the best choice. However, while sitting at home or at work anyone still able to learn a lot about other countries worldwide. In conclusion, we can see that it is hard to say that travelling is better to learn about the foreign places, or watching the National Geographic channel and browsing websites is alternative to travel. Accordingly, we can state that two points of view actually supplement each other, and can be used as support to each other.