Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many individuals believe that publicity guides us to purchase useless materials however, others think that advertisements inform us about useful items that may improve our lives. In this article, I am going to explain why I believe that advertisements and publicity lead us to purchase articles that we might not use at all after they get shipped right to our doors. No one can deny that advertisements may help us improve our lives in some ways, however, it has an unprecedented negative impact on our decisions, especially when it comes to buying products or services that have no value. Most of the time while surfing social media sites we don’t have any intention to add to our carts or purchase any of the products we see. However, the advertisers force us, using a type of advertisement that plays with our emotions and feelings. For example, I saw on Facebook an advertiser using a sad video to grab my attention and emotions to purchase his product. Another time I saw an ad that targeted young people. It was about a magic hair product that turns your hair soft so it looks like the ad’s hero, which was a famous actor in Hollywood. People may recognize that they are buying items that they don’t need only when they are making ends meet or when suffering from sickness. So basically, we don’t see and we don’t control ourselves when we are facing such powerful advertisements. In conclusion, I believe that publicity is a hindrance more than a help. It is a powerful tool that is misused by powerful companies to achieve their commercial goals. In my opinion, people need to be more aware of these advertising strategies. Finally, governments need to enforce their policies and regulations to protect users.