Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries. Others however, believe it is unnecessary because TV and the Internet can give all the same information.

As the world is becoming smaller than ever before, thanks to the rapid technology development and cheaper transportation cost. There are two contrasting views with regard to accessing other cultures. Firstly, people need to visit other countries to know other countries vividly whereas the others are accessing the information about other cultures through the medium of the Internet and TV. I will examine these two contrast views and add my comment on them. On the one hand, nobody cannot deny the fact that the way to travelling other countries have been the most traditional measure for people to have been used for experiencing other people's lifestyles and thoughts. This style has several advantages. One of the obvious advantages is that people can understand another culture more deeply through various ways such as having conversations with local people, eating the country's traditional custom, which are not possible in other medium to introduce other cultures. Thus, there are many people prefer to this traditional practice to experience other cultures. On the other hand, some people insist that fully taking advantage of TV and Internet to understand other countries has various advantages. One of the very conspicuous positive points is that it will give cost efficiency compared to the traditional method to travel abroad as it does not require people to buy the flight ticket or to stay in extravagant hotels for a couple of nights. In addition to this, the Internet has abolished some obstacles such as chatting with other country's people which have been impossible unless people visit the country. Hence, such technological advancement seems to contribute to change the way people access other cultures. In conclusion, each method has its own comparative advantage. It is quite hard to which one is more advantageous than other methods since people will weigh differently according to their preference. However, I personally to have the traditional way to travel abroad country since I like to experience in person.