Some people think that it is necessary to install video cameras inside the classrooms. with this idea?

It is no wonder that video cameras play a pivotal role in our society these days due to their accuracy and convenience in ensuring security. This accounts for the accelerating use of surveillance cameras in classrooms. While many people support this idea, I would object to installing cameras in the classroom environment for the following reasons. On the one hand, it is true that the installation of video cameras offers considerable benefits to education. First, it helps to manage the activities of both teachers and students in the classroom, which minimize improper behaviours of both teachers and students. Actually, there have been many reported cases that teachers conducted maltreatment to students, or students demonstrated a disrespectful attitude towards their tutors. Thanks to cameras, schools can monitor such situations, thereby creating a standard learning environment and developing well-educated learners. Moreover, were the teaching methods to be inappropriate, suitable adjustments would be carried out as soon as possible in order to enhance education quality. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that privacy is a right that should be respected in this modern world, and this is absolutely the case when it comes to classrooms. If video cameras are introduced to classrooms, teachers and students will have to suffer from constant surveillance. Their privacy will then be violated and even be misused for bad purposes. Furthermore, when teachers and students are at liberty, without worries about being under watch, they can come up with innovative ideas, which will enormously facilitate imagination and creativity in the classroom. For instance, instead of following conventional paths, the teacher can apply his or her flexible teaching methods to capture students’ attention. Accordingly, it will be easier for students to acquire knowledge and create an active studying environment. In conclusion, despite certain merits, I would argue that it is unnecessary to install surveillance cameras inside classrooms. Not only does this installation violate individual privacy, but it also acts as a deterrent to creativity among teachers and students. Therefore, it would be best to let them freely invent new ideas in order to foster an active learning environment, ultimately improving education quality.