Some people think that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others think that the information is too important or to valuable to shared freely.

Nowadays, thanks to the technological breakthrough, we can share and receive a lot more of information than we ever could. People tend to be interested in gaining knowledge from various fields, such as business, science, academics. However, one part of society believes that there is some data which should be kept out of the public eye, while others argue that it is better choice if every information, good or bad, is shared with everyone. On one hand, all the information should be shared with the civilization because of the freedom granted to everyone regarding access to the information, potential prevention of some problems and making informed choices. Firstly, every human being should be entitled with right to know any data that can either benefit or harm them. Moreover, knowledge gained through these researches or literature could benefit people in a way that they can prevent some potential problems or consequences. This can benefit society in many ways, such as work towards the decrease of activities that cause climate change. Finally, when people possess information and knowledge on some topic, they can make informed choices. On the other hand, hiding some data or facts is necessary because some people might not understand it well, and it is also safer for them, as it can cause mass hysteria. Ordinary people usually do not possess enough knowledge to understand what was the aim of some reasearch or what do the results mean, and they tend to pull it out of the original context. This can lead to conspiracy theories or sharing fake news, which could be extremely dangerous. Furthermore, valuable information is almost always protected with a reason, and it usually includes humanity’s safety. If people are to find out some potentially harmful or freightening news, they could start a mass panic. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages on both sides, but I would argue that it is safer to keep some information away from public, in order to protect the public from itself.