Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally.

People’s opinion differ as to whether nation’s culture benefits from introduction of films from other countries or from films produced in own country. Personally, I side with the latter viewpoint on this matter. Those who argue that it is beneficial for a country’s culture to showcase foreign movies have their reasons. Firstly, viewers will be able to get knowledge about culture and trends of various countries. This will result in adopting some positive things from it. For example, Japanese culture is seen in movies which often displays their humbleness as they bow to each other when greeting one another. Secondly, it also broaden audience’s vision and help to become more open minded. Just like some movies promote equal identity to male and female when seen in light of work. However, I side with those who feel that locally produced movies are much more beneficial. One reason is that when films are produced locally, it creates a stir to one’s own traditions and cultures, which are often disturbed by the influence from modern trends. To exemplify, traditional greeting methods are often being displaced by word ‘hello’ or ‘hi’. Another reason is that when local production is there, it creates lots of employment opportunities which in result, promotes new talent from local community and play a crucial role in boosting the local economy. In conclusion, while there are reasons to believe that importing foreign movies are beneficial to country’s culture, my own view is that locally produced movies are a better option because it promotes local culture and boosts employment as well as country’s economy.