Some people think that it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Others believe that it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A few people are of the opinion to have friends having similar opinion to be more productive, in contrasts others think that one should choose friends with differing opinions. I believe that friends with a differing opinion are more helpful in long term. On one hand friends with similar opinions help them spend a lot of time together without much conflicts. It is highly likely that all friends will engage in similar kinds of activities most of the time hence keeping them together. For example, after a hectic week, each of the friend could get together to spend time doing similar kind of activities such as to visit a pub or a literary club, watch movies, attending same events, etc. All of these help friends with similar viewpoints stay together for longer hours. On the other hand, acquaintance with different opinions help the group help everyone in many ways. In a group of friends in which one person is interested in literature, while other is a vocal comedian, someone an artist, most of the time their opinions will differ. But everyone of them will enrich the group with their own perspectives. For example, there are numerous examples of friends with different opinions coming out to business schools and successfully coming with ideas and implementing the same. In my view, friends with different opinions can help everyone in the group. Our understanding of the world is defined by the ideas we encounter everyday, and the best place to get a diverse set of ideas is through friends who wear different lenses to view the world. For example, in our MBA classrooms, we often came up with different solution when someone was an arts student and engineering students. Moreover, this experience helped everyone of us come up with better solution in our real situation problems. Hence, a group of friends with differing opinions helps everyone in the group. To conclude, a group of friends with similar opinions might seem an optimal choice in short term, however a friend circle with different opinions helps everyone in the long term.