Some people think that it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Others believe that it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A few people are of the opinion to have friends having a similar opinion to be more productive, in contrasts others think that one should choose friends with differing opinions. I believe that friends with a differing opinionis more helpful in the long term. On one hand friends with similar opinions help they spend numerous time together without many conflicts. It is highly likely that all friends will engage in similar kinds of activities most of the time hence keeping them together. For example, after a hectic week, each of the friends could get together to spend time doing similar kind of activities such as visiting a pub or a literary club, watch movies, attending the same events, etc. All of these help friends with similar viewpoints stay together for long hours. On the other hand, acquaintance with different opinions help the group help everyone in a plethora of ways. In a group of friends in which one person is interested in literature, while other is a vocal comedian, someone an artist, most of the time their opinions will differ. On the contrary every one of them will enrich the group with their own perspectives. For example, there are numerous examples of friends with different opinions coming out to business schools and successfully coming with ideas and implementing the same. In my view, friends with various opinions can help everyone in the group. Our understanding of the world is defined by the ideas we encounter every day, and the best place to get a diverse set of ideas is through friends who wear various lenses to view the world. For example, in our MBA classrooms, we frequently came up with various solutions when someone was an art student and engineering student. Moreover, this experience helped every one of us come up with a better solution to our real situation problems. Hence, a group of friends with differing opinions helps everyone in the group. To conclude, a group of friends with similar opinions might seem an optimal choice in short term, however a friend circle with different opinions helps everyone in the long term.