Trililingualism in Kazakhstan

The research topic on the impact of trilingual education system is chosen because as a student of NIS schools I study in three languages. I have been learning some subjects in Russian since 7th grade, and I have noticed changes in the level of proficiency in three languages. Undoubtedly, my level of English has improved thanks to the three-language unity project. Therefore, I decided to research its influence on different aspects of life and the quality of education. The trilingual education system includes the study of three or more languages in order to increase the competitiveness of the state and improve the quality of education. Kazakhstan has introduced trilingualism to actively participate in world’s growth process. The main purpose of the research is to determine impacts of trilingual policy on the level of language proficiency of the population and identify problems caused by implementation of the new education reform. The study will consider the following three main objectives:  reasons for the adoption of trilingualism in Kazakhstan;  difficulties and opportunities provided by a multilingual system;  influence of the new learning system on quality of education. The problem is relevant among students; I have witnessed a situation where students spent more time learning foreign languages than Kazakh. There was a case that occurred with my friend when she entered NIS. From an early age she studied in the Kazakh language and mastered it at the highest level, but she had problems with Russian and English. Therefore, she began to diligently study these languages and use them in everyday life to communicate with friends. As a result, her knowledge of a foreign language has improved, but now it is difficult for her to express herself in her native language. It is a common situation for most students because the trilingual system requires students to be fluent in three languages. I want to investigate the other implications of a program called the unity of three languages to see if this was a good or bad decision. The question is very important to be researched, since the transition to a multilingual society is one of the goals of the Kazakhstani government. The research results can be useful to various educational institutions and people interested in studying the trilingual education system.