Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are companies who require their employees to dress formally at work while other organizations concern is the skills of the employees rather than the way they look. I strongly believe that the performance at work of an employee is more vital than their appearance. Some business companies have set a dress code that employees should follow. By setting this protocol, employees will look smart and respectful which in turn will invite more clients to their company. For example, big department stores provide uniforms to their employees and it helps them to look presentable. Thus, shoppers find them approachable and there is also an evident increased in sales. On the other hand, their were organizations who give more importance on the work quality of the employee. These type of business companies believe that better work performance matter than the appearance of the employee. For instance, engineers and architectures with their own firm do not need to wear suit and tie just to prove the clients that they could provide better service than the others. Showing these new clients the portfolios and positive feedback from previous clients would be enough to showcase their skills and abilities. In conclusion, companies have different opinions about dress code depending on the type of service they offered to the society. While there are people who have different opinions in this matter, I still stand with the notion that an employee who work their heart out is better than an employee who just dress smartly but shows no compassion in their job.