Some people think that it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Others believe it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with you.

Friends unquestionably play a crucial role in one’s life. Although some people are of the view that it is good to select friends who do not show the difference of opinion, in my view, it is better to have friends who can show disagreement in certain situations. This essay will discuss both of these views in the forthcoming paragraphs. Admittedly, some individuals believe that friends possessing the same opinion are better because it is critical for a strong relationship. If friends always possess a difference in opinions regarding certain matters, it would weaken their friendship. That is to say, friends are the ones who always set aside their views and thoughts, and collaborate as well as understand their friends’ opinion, which, in turn, results in long-lasting relationships. A recent study, for instance, has found that youngsters who have the quality of agreeing with their friends in every situation have stronger friendship than those who do not. However, the opponents of the former view say that it is beneficial that a friend also shows disagreement in a certain situation and I agree. If an individual is taking a wrong step or decide on any unwise act, it is his friends’ responsibility to criticize him and manifest their difference of opinion regarding that matter. This would discourage a person and may alter his decision, thereby would not undergo a damaging step. A younger individual, for example, after a quarrel with his parents may decide to leave home, but if in such circumstances criticize by his friends can change his decision. In conclusion, while some people opine that a friend should be the one who does not shows the difference of opinion as it may damage the relationship, in my opinion, the difference of opinion is more beneficial in terms of guiding a friend to a right path.