Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, it is useless for high school students to spend time to learn literature. I agree with you because learning literature is not the best use of their time. I will substantiate my view / opinion with valid arguments in this essay. To begin with, it is obvious that studying literature does not have a tangible impact on people’s lives. Employment in this field is also limited compared to other important subjects. Consequently, when students learn literature, they do not get enough time to focus on science or maths. Students in India, for example, start preparing for entrance exams for engineering, medical or law colleges from the high school time because the universities only consider their grades related to these subjects. Therefore, spending time on learning novels or poems may deviate students from their end goal of securing good jobs. Additionally, literature can be studied at any time in life. If it is taught at the elementary level, students will develop a taste for it and their language skills will also improve. Once they have acquired an interest in literature, they can read more and more when they get free time. Another downside of making literature a part of the curriculum is that not everyone is interested in it. Teaching it to students who are disinterested in it is a mere waste of time especially since they are fewer job opportunities in this sector. In conclusion, curriculum for high school students is scrutinized more than ever before these days. I am in complete agreement with the argument that spending time on studying literature in high school is a waste of time and they should rather focus on other important subjects.