Some people think that international sports events create problems for the hosting country and they are a waste of time and money.

Nowadays, end number of sport events are happening globally which are catering an opportunity for various nations to be a host. Whereas, some people believe that organising these events only give rise to certain issues leading to waste of resources. However, I completely disagree with this statement and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, the privilege of hosting a global event can be a boon for a country as an event of such high standards can boost the tourism of that nation. For instance, a recent cricket World Cup event which took place in India went around for two months consequently profiting not only the hotel industry but also other tourism sectors. Thus, it helped in uplifting the economy of India. As a result of which the country is able to invest in other valuable aspects. Furthermore, welcoming people from other countries can result in globalisation and there can be a cultural exchange. In other words, this can cause peace in the world providing a global recognition to the country and it can also eradicate the myth surrounding a specific nation leading to healthy relations among countries around the world. For example, there are such events like olympic where all nations participate even the countries with political differences are present spreading a message of unity. On the other hand, being a host to an international event can cause burden for an underdeveloped nation as preparations can result in hefty amount of money which may bring about more issues concerning the local residents and shaken up their economic system. To conclude, some people perceive that hosting a globally recognised event can be a waste of time and money. I believe that it is essential for a country to participate in hosting an event as it can shine their image, boost tourism and facilitate the economy.