Some people think that, in order to increase the amount of waste products that are recycled, governments should introduce laws making recycling a compulsory act. with this statement?

In the time of our lives, waste recycling as well as people’s participation in it is an issue open to debate. Several individuals insist that the government should enforce laws making recycling mandatory. I am biased to the fact that this approach has its own remarkable advantages and disadvantages as follows. Advocates of law enforcement on recycling reflect that this act grants people vital merits regarding society awareness, resources preservation and ecologic protection. To begin with, the fact that individuals are obliged to implement governments’ policy makes it favorable to their discernment of the problem. They are expected to understand the problem and cooperate with administrations; otherwise, they would face punishments, namely being fined, sued, pleaded guilty in front of the jury, or more severely, sent to prison. A more observable benefit of this method is that it saves the planet’s natural resources. Every year, the manufacturing process of new products contributes to the exploitation of resources, while reusable materials go to waste. By enacting the aforementioned law, the government as well as manufacturers could make use of old materials while conserving fresh, raw ones for future use to ensure sensible, sustainable utilization. Finally, it goes without saying that this law would play an important role in protecting the environment and ecology. It ensures that reusable waste is salvaged, which prominently reduces the amount of industrial waste – a key source of pollution. Besides, recycling reduces greenhouse gas emissions, thus combat climate change. Nevertheless, drawbacks of this act including high costs, safety and substandard quality products also need to be taken into consideration. Central to my stance is that recycling, especially on a regular basis, may result in financial issues. Recycling factories require more advanced machinery, equipments and technology, thus they are 2. 5 times more expensive than regular factories. This may infer that governments will face great expenditures; which may present low and middle income countries with a serious problem. Besides, a closer investigation into security indicates that recycling may not be safe in the long term. This process may create hazardous conditions, which are grounds to bacteria, and health-related issues, and even pollution, which is quite the opposite of what advocates are going for. In the final analysis, products made from repurposed materials do not reach the quality standard of new products made from fresh materials. If recycling is made compulsory, recycled products will be more common, however they cannot cater for people’s need of high-quality goods. All in all, law enforcement on recycling has crucial advantages including society understanding, resources preservation and environment protection, while also possess apparent downsides, namely high costs, security and poor quality products. To my perspective, this method is effective and worth implementing, however, the government should also take other measures to best eradicate environmental problems.