In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes.

In any historical time period, the debate on how to cope with criminals around the world has never been completely settled. Although prison sentences are one essential weapon in the fight against crime, it would be better if the goverment provided some lighter solutions for offenders to adjust their behavior. It is true that education and job training are the most suitable methods that can be used to help criminals become better citizens. Firstly, education could change offenders’ attitude in a positive way. For example, being educated could make offenders distinguish between right or wrong, and they would realize that it is unacceptable to break the law. Secondly, job training is extremely important for breaklawers as it helps them to achieve a normal career after completing their sentence. In fact, many wrongdoers have had legal jobs when coming back to society, which can lower the chance of future reoffences. Another compelling reason why prison not the most optimal punishment is that large number of prisoners are not actually a danger to society. Take shoplifters as an example, they are often locked up in the same cells as murderers, rapists and violent criminals which would waste an indequate amount of taxpayers’ money. In addition, vile criminals may even learn how to commit more serious crime when they are inside. In conclusion, although it is a common belief that prison is the best way to punish criminals, it is not necessary in the majority of cases. It would be better to use imprisonment as the last option when all else was worthless.