: Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

In recent years there has been an increase in the number of international sports events across the globe. While some people believe that an opportunity to host such a major event would be good for the country, others disagree and believe that it would prove to be bad. In this essay I will discuss both point of views and lend my partial support to the former. Task of hosting an international event comes with responsibility and requires months of preparation. If the event is a grand success, not only the efforts of the country would be appreciated but also the capability would be highlighted. For instance, in 2016 Olympics event hosted by China, they managed to artificially stop the rain which resulted in a dry opening day. Furthermore, the opening ceremony was unique and memorable. The media coverage assured that the commendable efforts of the country reached every corner of the world. Hence there was an excellent visibility and the opportunity provided a platform for the country to showcase its research and development capabilities as well. On the other hand, it may prove to be otherwise if there are negatives highlighted during this period. For example the terrorist attack on one of the Sri Lankan players during a major ICC international cricket event hosted by Pakistan led to fear and panic amongst all the cricket playing nations. This eventually led in a temporary ban on Pakistan for hosting any kind of international cricket event until an alternative is suggested and accepted. Going forward all the countries would have security concerns while travelling to Pakistan. In conclusion, though it may prove to be a double edged sword which can always be a case with an opportunity, I believe that this golden opportunity is much larger and if handled well the positives and the good for the future of the country outnumber the negatives.