Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

It is widely believed that local food is better than the imported one, because it grows near our houses and enriches the welfare of our country’s economy. I believe that more food should arrive from local sellers and less than international companies that import it, yet I do not agree to say that nothing should be imported. Indeed, an alimentation based exclusively on local food might be poor and reduced: most part of the food we eat is not stagional and cannot be produced in any place. A number of plants grow only with warm and hot temperatures, other needs wide spaces and not every country has the peculiarities necessary for the proper growth of any type of plant (the same argumentations can be done with animals in farms). Consequently, if we want to have a various diet we need imports from overseas. Moreover, there are global business and international interests behind imports, which bring job and opportunities for a large amount of people. On the other hand, frequently the imported food has as consequence the exploiation of workers, due to the always higher request of products to be satisfated in a short time (and the aim is to spend the lowest amount of money, and raise as high as possible amount of it). Furthermore, is proved by experts that imported food has an high level of pollution, given that it has to be imported using inquinant transports, such as airplanes. For instance, in the light of the fact that the global request of avocados has been growing, South America’s farmers have been pressured to produce more and more and now, the result is that the soil is mistreated, ill and dry, and local people have no more corrent water. Local products may encourage and help local sellers and farmers, and we could have a plethora of benefits from them, such as awareness of what we put in our stomach and healthier food. In contrast, we could not endure a limited offer of products: from my point of view the right choice may be a balance between local and imported food