Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the world is a global village now, many different kinds of events are held internationally. A lot of countries do not just want to be the participants, they also want to be the organizer of these events. However, some people think hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while others hold a different opinion. Some people think it is an honour to host an interesting sports event in their country. Moreover, they consider this as a great opportunity to welcome people from around the world and to show how friendly and passionate their people are. In addition, it is a great way to show how strong and powerful the country is by the way the country hosts the event. Furthermore, the event can help attract more visitors and boost the economy. On the other hand, some people think it is bad for the country to host an international sports event. One major argument is that the country has to spend a huge amount of money on building some infrastures for the sports event. Some infrastures may become useless after the event. Take the Olympic Games as an example, Beijing hosted this event in 2008. A stadium which shaped like a bird nest and a venue that is called the "water cube" were built for this event at that time. Now, they all become a tourist attraction. Some concerts are held in those venues as well. Some people consider building these venues specifically for this event is money-consuming as they become literally useless after the event. To sum up, I think there are both pros and cons about hosting an international sports event in the country. After considering views from both sides, I believe the pros outweigh the cons. As far as I know, every country has to make plans and submit proposals to compete for the opportunity to host this event. The government should have carefully examined all aspects before they submit their proposals. Based on previous experiences, I think the advantages of hosting an international sports event are more than the disadvantages.