Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A vast majority of today's population enjoy watching sports on tv. A common example is the Olymics, a widely popular international sports event that attracts thousands of live spectators and an even greater audience on television each game. Such international games have their own advantages and disadvantages. A myriad of people belive the disadvantages of these sports outweigh the benefits due to the financial cost. However, I believe that hosting international sports has a multitude of pros for the country. Firstly, international sports generate a great amount of publicity for the country. People travel far and wide to be part of the audience and enjoy watching the sports live. Furthermore, local businesses generate revenue from the tourists as well as competing players and their teams. This boosts the country's economy as well as boosting revenue from local attractions such as museums and national parks. Secondly, hosting international games can be a source of pride for the country and its people. Locals get to experience and enjoy sporting events that they wouldn't normally be able to attend. They can gain insight as well as experience the highs and lows of sporting events. Lastly, the places built to host these games can later be used by the locals. An ice skating rink, for example, could be used as a training ground for future participants. This boosts interest of locals in sports as well as encourages young children to compete in such competetions. On the other hand, some people argue that international games like these do more harm than good. They believe that games such as the Olympics is a wastage of the countrys money. When carefully considered, however, international sports generate far greater income than loss. To conclude, hosting international sports is an incredible way to exponentially boost a countrys tourism as well as build interest and jobs for locals.