Young people are no longer interested in reading newspapers or watching news programmes on television.

Young people are no longer interested in reading newspapers or watching news programmes on television. There are many reasons behind this and the most important one is that youngsters are no longer dependent on television on print media for news and information. They can get updates on the go from the internet. There are several reasons why newspapers are not being read by young people in many countries. The most important one is the evolution of information technology. One no longer has to read a newspaper to stay updated of the latest happenings in the world. It is now possible to get instant updates from websites like Google and Twitter. Another reason for this loss of interest in newspapers and news channels is the outdated way of presentation. Youngsters need byte sized information and lack the patience to read long news reports. Also, they have little interest in topics such as politics and business which receive undue coverage in traditional media. However, youngsters should be encouraged to read newspapers because these are authentic sources of information. This is not exactly the case with social media where gossips spread faster than truths. In order to win the attention of young people, newspapers should find out what they are interested in. Likewise, news channels should create content that caters to their needs. It is proven that youngsters like to read about sports, stories and movies. To draw their attention towards the newspaper and news channels, these stories should be given more coverage. Moreover, to persuade them to read a newspaper, we should tell them about the benefits they can reap from reading newspapers. To conclude, young people don’t read newspapers because they can receive news updates from other sources like the internet. Also they are not interested in the topics discussed in newspapers and on news channels. However, by creating content that interests young readers, newspapers and news channels can win their attention.