Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Sports acquire a very important segment for the most of people's lives all around world. Accordingly, it is quite important for governments to allocate an enough percentage from their countries budget towards international sports events. As an economist, I think that this depends on the country's situation and its people's status; whether they are poor or rich. Generally, sports are useful for all people and it makes people forget their responsibilities. People supporting having international sports event in their home countries believe that it will increase the country's income through the bloom that will happen in travelers' numbers to the hosting countries. Moreover, sports have been considered as part of the countries' cultures and histories. On the other hand, there are some people against the mentioned idea as they prefer to put the money invested in such events in another long-term investments or to be directed to the people's needs. People against the idea think that, the events will require great efforts and precautions for safety, in order to provide a suitable place for the launch of these events. In addition to all this, they think that the events could be a place for the occurrence of violence; where the government will be stressed to provide the best event. Moreover, giving sports hugh attention could affect people's health negatively and cause the spread of hatred between the supporters of different teams. Finally, having international sports events held in your country is a pretty magnificent thing; however, launching these events could be managed differently. Countries can agree to share the events' expense on the contributing countries. Thus, the countries with the highest contribution can take the highest revenues. It is important for countries to diversify their portfolios and not to "put all or most of their eggs in one basket".