Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Every year various countries across the globe play host to myriad of sports events. There is no doubt that conducting an international event is humongous responsibility on the host country, but the publicity that it receives on account of the same makes up for it. In addition to the sports event itself, the fanfare associated with it draws a wide audience to travel and to witness the spectacle. The debate whether hosting an international sports event is beneficial to a country or not is a longstanding one. While on the one hand, there is a great influx of business associated with the sports event, on the other hand the administrative burden on the host country is unimaginable. If the pros of conducting an event may be looked at, it contributes to the revenue of the country by bringing in global tourists. In fact, a few countries like Spain have a dedicated sport tourism industry. In addition to the financial revenue, hosting an international event put the host country in the limelight. This global attention can be utilised in many advantageous ways including showcasing the unique culture of the country to the rest of the world. However, it would be prudent to consider the cons attached to playing host to millions of individuals from around the world. Such a large congregation contributes to an increase in security risk, exploitation of resources and unprecedented increase in waste generation. In the light of the COVID-19 pandemic, hosting an international sporting event might not be advisable as in involves hordes of people travelling using multiple modes of transport. Additionally, the protocols that are required to be followed during the pandemic like social distancing will diminish the business income that a host country is legitimately expecting from hosting such an event. Qatar is all set to host the FIFA World Cup in 2022. However, with the advent of COVID- 19 pandemic, the country has to exercise extreme caution while hosting international sports events.