: Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Hosting an international event in the country has its own pros and cons. Talking about the positives, hosting such an event helps in boosting the economy of the nation hosting the event. Hosting such kind of events requires a world class infrastructure that requires both skilled as well as unskilled or semi-skilled labour which in turn generates employment in the country. Also, foreign nationals come to the hosting nation, which in turn brings foreign income to the nation, which in turns helps in boosting the economy. These kinds of events also promote Globalisation and help understand different cultures and their natives better. Such kind of events makes the world well connected. Another good thing about these is talent gets the opportunity at the international level and the participants get the chance to compete and learn from the best talented people across the globe. The best example of such events is the Olympics. The Olympics is an immensely popular event organised every four years and contestants from over 192 countries over the globe take part in such a mega show. Asian games, Commonwealth games are such globally recognized events which are held periodically. If we talk about the cons, the main con which I have seen in the last few years is corruption. Although hosting such events require world class infrastructure which leads to the development but it also lead to corruption. The latest example related to this is Asian Games Scam in New Delhi while making village for this event. Everything has its pros and cons but I firmly believe that hosting such events connect the world to a much greater extent and help people of different cultures, religions and background to come together and exchange their resources, from money to culture and from ideas to learning.