Some People Think That Hosting An International Sports Event Is Good For The Country

According to some people major sports events benefit the host country; however, others opine that hosting such events creates more problems than benefits. Both views will be discussed in this essay before arriving at a conclusion. Without any doubt organizing a sports event would bring considerable economic benefits to the country. Because lots of sports enthusiasts will visit the host country to watch the events in person, there will be many economic opportunities. First of all, the host will have a chance to sell numerous tickets for the event. The tourists who come for the event will also buy from the local shops and stay at local hotels. Other advantages of hosting a sports event can be cultural. Since a significant number of tourists come to the country, the country will have a golden opportunity to showcase its tourist attractions. The tourists will have lots of great memories if the organization is well-prepared and that means they will want to visit the country again. And if these visitors are happy during their stay in the country, they will give word of mouth publicity to the hosting nation and that will attract more foreign visitors. On the other hand, some people consider hosting as dangerous. Since a lot of people will be visiting the country during such events, untoward incidents like terror attacks could happen and the host country may have to take the blame. The other disadvantage is that if they fail to organize the event properly, it will affect the reputation of the country. To conclude / to sum up, there are certainly some downsides to hosting a major event. However, if the event is organized properly, it is a major opportunity for a nation to boost its image in front of the world. Hence, in my opinion, the benefits of staging international sporting events exceed the drawbacks.