“Some people think that high school students should do part-time jobs. Do you think this is a positive or negative trend? ”

Many people assume that students in high school should do part-time jobs. From my perspective, I partly advocate this opinion for several following reasons. On the one hand, I support the idea that high school students ought to have side jobs because of potential benefits. Firstly, students can earn money and be financially independent from their parents. Although the money gained from part-time work is not probably much, it can assist students to pay basic needs such as stationery, clothes, ect even tuition fees. Another positive advantage is improving personal skills. Thanks to side jobs, students accumulate practical experiences, have chances to boost soft skills which are essential for their future such as time management skills, communication skills, problem-solving skills, ect. Additionally, temporary jobs also allow students to broaden relationships, have new friends who have peer viewpoints, share lessons, and give advice. On the other hand, part-time jobs also have several inevitable drawbacks. Students taking much time for working become distracted from studying in school. This leads to decline in academic results which play a major important role in their high school graduation exam. Similarly, being highly concentrated on work has negative impacts on their health. Allocating time for both heavy studying and working is overloaded for a high school student. As a result, there is not much time for them to enjoy their teenage period, participate in extracurricular activities, ect. Moreover, the health situation of students who suffer from overworking for a long time becomes worse, they easily get health problems such as exhaustion, illness, heavy pressure, ect. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, while I strongly support the idea that high school students should do part-time jobs, I hold a firm belief that part-time jobs bring certain disadvantageous aspects.