Some people think that high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

It is quite common in this era for younger people to have a break from studying after finishing high school. This trend is not only for rich students but also for those student who choose to work and become economically independent for a period of time. Sometimes this situation creates advantages as well as disadvantages. I will discuss both boons and banes and come to a final conclusion. The benefits of taking a year off are abundant. On a personal level, student who travel away from home develop their independence and self confidence. They learn about viewpoints, traditions, different mindsets from their own. Professionally, student get a taste of different workplaces, which inspire a possible career. They study their own beliefs and ideas vis-a-vis those of others in a new environment. Students can level up their own understanding. For an instance, according to the most recent study data from the gap year association, students who took time off before college gained a greater understanding of the world. Nevertheless, there are also dangers involved in taking such a long break. The main drawback is that students can get switched from their studies. Student could loose the good study habits and sense of discipline. One of the demerits of a student gap year is that it will tough to go back to study. Many students want to travel around and explore during their gap year. But this can be an expensive that will ultimately add to your student debt. To conclude, whether to take a year long break or not is an individual decision. Each young person should be considered his or her motivations carefully and decide on most desirable.