Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of ​both approaches. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Pursuing higher degrees is the dream of youth who has academic excellence. Importance of gaining work experience before their higher education is debatable due to the various viewpoints each party holds. Although it has both benefits and drawbacks, this should be measured by analysing all dimensions. The causes dividing the opinions will be examined in the essay. Firstly, working for some time before pursuing the majors can help money management, which is essential for anyone. Secondly, learning to relate theory with practice is the most significant quality, which many students lack today. To illustrate, a study by Yale University found that students who take some gap prior to their majors were 50% less likely to get dropped out and behave more matured from an early age. Therefore, this phenomenon is proved to be productive for youngsters' future career prospects. On the flip side, there is a high possibility among the youth to get diverted from education once they started earning. This pattern is prevalent in marginal neighbourhoods throughout the world. For example, after being interviewed by Yale psychologists, over 70% of young office workers admitted that they gave up their studies after started their part-time jobs. Moreover, few countries do not encourage taking a break between studies and treating it as a negative remark in the student's career. For example, most Indian companies check for continuity in studies as their shortlisting criteria to hire. Thus, it should be pondered as well. To recapitulate, taking a break before university education for a good cause has both pros and cons as in everything else. One has to think from all angles before making a decision.