SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES SHOULD TRAVEL OR WORK FOR A PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE GOING DIRECTLY TO STUDY AT UNIVERSITY

Now-a-days, it has become a popular notion that to make ones’ parents proud the student is required to have a successful career. Some people claim that in order to become successful, the student needs to work right after graduating high school; while, others argue that being a university graduate will guarantee an excellent career. In this essay I shall draw upon a number of examples that will bring out both the positive and negative impacts of a two-sided coin. To begin with, exposure to work at an early age will prove to be beneficial for the student in certain ways. Being novices, in the understanding of the world and the way the financial cycle works, these young students will learn about propriety at work and professionalism at a young age. In a sense, they will tend to become more matured and hence, prudent. For instance, a study by the New York Career Association substantiated that almost 70% of the students who worked after high school showed smartness at work than the ones who went right into college after graduating high school. On the other hand, it is often claimed that getting admitted to a good university will be more advantageous for a good future. It cannot be denied that top notch companies hire and provide good salaries only to university graduates and hence, this opportunity does not knock on the doors of only high school graduates. In addition, it has been proven by a group of career psychologists at Yale, that university graduates are more contended in their lives than high school graduates who seem to be struggling with their jobs. In conclusion, although both choices have their own implications, I believe that it is important for the student to outweigh the benefits and the drawbacks in order to have a successful career.