Some people think that governments should spend money on exploring the outer space. Others think that money could be better spent on solving problems on earth

It is true that all criminals must be punished. While, some people believe that each criminal should be punished fixedly in their case that they commit, I agree with those who think that at the moment of reaching a verdict, the circumstances of infraction should be taken into consideration. Some people might think that fixed punishment can act as a deterrent to decrease the rate case. That is to say, advocates of such an idea think that, If a person who plans to commit a crime knows what kind of retribution expects him for his deed, he can change his mind. Take a shoplifter for example, who will be afraid of even stealing a small item the price of which is insignificant, thinking about the fact that he will serve sentence of the same period as a bank robber, which could be many years. Moreover, the single type sanction can accelerate the process of jurisdiction in criminal cases. In other words, if the main details are known to the judge, he can reach a verdict immediately, not requiring any additional details of the case. However, while punishing a criminal the circumstances in which the infraction was committed has to be taken into account for some reasons. Firstly, the motive of case can be different and thus it would not be fair, for example, to sentence two different murderers the same period in prison when one of them accidentally killed someone as a self-defence, while the other one is a hardened criminal. Secondly, criminal record of a person who did scandal must be also taken into account and especially for hardened criminals the punishment should be more severe. Finally, depending on the level of the repercussion of the infraction in terms of damage to society, not all same type crimes can be punished equally. During a bank robbery investigation, for instance, it must be clearly identified how much money was stolen, what was the extent of the damage to the bank and its customers and so on. To summarise, although fixed punishment can deter many crimes, details such as reason of case, crime history of an offender and rate of impact of the infraction on society are essential to be considered to reach a fair verdict.