Some people think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society and those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding.

Nelson Mandela once said, “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world. ” While many agree that education is indeed essential, a handful believes that state funds should only be allocated to those who are studying subjects that are relevant to society. In this essay, I will share why should there be no discrimination between students who study necessary subjects and those who are not. First of all, there are indeed some subjects that take precedence over others. Science, some says, is more relevant than the arts since it enables us to develop new technologies, solve practical problems, and make informed decisions. That may be true but that does not mean that those who are taking humanities subjects are irrelevant. I, for one, am a Theological student. It is more than studying history or reading types of literatures, it fosters critical-thinking skills and aids in problem-solving. Hence, there is no such thing as one subject is more useful than the other as each major is unique in its own right. Secondly, education is a powerful agent of change. Everyone, including those in academia, business, and government, plays an important role be it Humanities or Sciences. Government support of a higher education can help to eliminate the need for welfare. Furthermore, it helps to reduce the levels of family or class-related poverty. Nowadays, prices have increased substantially. The capacity to make life choices is indeed important. The more governments pay equally for both sides, the adaptation to the world around them is easier. To sum it up, despite the argument of only professionals in some fields are needed, I believe that obtaining an education is everyone’s right. As a result, there should be equality in terms of governments bearing the cost of education. This would ensure the growth of both individuals and nation. Each and every branch of education should thus be entitled to government fellowships.