Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Undergraduate degree is believed to be a prime way to secure a higher position in a reputed company, while others hold that work experience is more important, and entering in to work force right away would therefore be a better option. This essay agrees that the potential of an undergraduate to become a qualified professional is higher than a person who terminates the education at secondary school. These days more and more adolescents are willing to enter a university on account of a huge number of job opportunities they have after passing out. In other words, employers prefer to hire qualified graduates with specialized knowledge for higher positions in their industries, therefore, this drive ensures well-paid jobs for university students. In addition to the job security, professionals are always high wage earners and are offered attractive fringe benefits such as comprehensive medical insurance. So, holding a degree is advantageous in terms of one’s professional life, as companies do not have a will to employ unqualified people for higher-tier jobs. Conversely, some believe in experience at work rather than undergraduate qualification, when finding a job. Of course, early engagement in work aids in developing a number of life skills, such as autonomy, teamwork and accountability, which are important tools of a successful professional life. However, these tools alone would not be sufficient to guarantee a high-rank job because employers always seek qualifications than experiences, and that is why these people often propel to low-tier jobs with low salaries. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claim that 95% of unqualified workers struggle to pay bills because they cannot make ends meet. A university degree is thereby vital if one needs to secure a job. While some people believe in undergraduate degree, others rely on experience as the best qualification to enter in to the job market. Pursuing a degree is the best to achieve this as the main focus of the employers is qualifications. On the other hand, although having a job early offers some soft skills, they are alone insufficient to fulfill employer’s requirements.