Farming is the backbone of every country, but nowadays, many youngsters hesitate to enter in to this profession. Why is this case? What can be done to avoid it?

Although agriculture is a crucial industry for every country, many youths do not prefer it as their career. Many factors are involved in this issue which will be discussed in this essay, and practical solutions to solve this problem as well. Negative perception and limited access to credit are the two leading reasons for leaving agriculture. The first factor has been created by societies that consider agriculture as a non-prestigious job and non-profitable as well. A profitable and a respectable job is what every parent needs for their children; therefore, children have been insisted since childhood rather to be a doctor or an engineer than to be a farmer. As a consequence, youngsters are reluctant to enter into farming industry, even though they are unemployed. The second reason has also demotivated potential young entrepreneurs. Banks turn away young famers because they do not think that farming is a viable business and that land is not a sufficient collateral. So that, youths are often unable to find the financial assistance they need for their business whereby they lose their interest and confidence in this industry. In order to solve this problem, some practical suggestions can be given. For the second issue, governments should make initiative by connecting young farmers with investors, organizations, and supporters. In addition to that, they can establish small financial institutions that can offer a jump start to youths interested in farming enterprise. This financial support enables youngsters not only to initiate their small farms, but also to experience new agricultural methods such as precision farming and satellite farming. As a result, farming will become more attractive and profitable industry; subsequently, society’s negative perception around farming will break. In turn, more and more youths will enter into agriculture, which will make it a prestigious profession. In conclusion. even though many factors make youngsters leave agriculture, it can easily be prevented by giving simple solutions; thereby, farming can be developed into an attractive enterprise.