Some people think that films are less important than other forms of art such as literature and paintings.

Some people believe that other forms of art such as literature and paintings are more important than films. Personally, I disagree with this opinion because every form of art plays an important role to people in different aspects. On the one hand, the importance of art forms like literature and paintings should never be overlooked because of its educational values. First, literature can serve as a depiction of different facets of life, and through the stories narrated by the authors, readers can draw meaningful life lessons. For example, the best-selling literary work “The Alchemist” tells the story of a man who forever lived with the goal to return to the so-called “Land of God”, which reminds the young of how important it is to set a clear goal in life. Second, students can develop their creativity through lessons in art subjects such as painting. In drawing classes, students are taught to analyse, express their feelings towards given pictures and then find different ways to convey ideas through their own paintings. However, movies can be considered as a multi-billion dollar industry that can generate tremendous wealth for any involved economy. For instance, Disney broke its annual box-office record at the end of 2019 with 7. 37 billion dollars after the release of Frozen II, which is the highest-grossing animated movie of all time. In addition, the scenery depicted in a movie can contribute to the increasing number of visitors to a country. For example, according to research conducted in the UK in 2009, 20% of visitors in the UK in 2009 claimed that they traveled to this country because of the landscapes featured in a recent movie they had watched. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea that films pale in significance compared to other forms of art such as literature and painting. Each form of art has an important role to play in different aspects, whether it is education or economy, and it is therefore unreasonable to compare one art form to another.