In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime. Many people believe that installing CCTV cameras is the best way to prevent crimes from happening.

The use of technology in surveillance and its detrimental impact on personal privacy has often sparked heated debates. While some are aware of the use of gadgets for keeping out a close eye on individuals' activities, a large chunk of the population is completely alien to such a possibility. This essay will shed light on the pros and cons of using such a system followed by my own opinion. There are a plethora of benefits that proctoring systems bring in. First and foremost, it goes a long way in providing a sense of security to the citizens. With the advent of technologies such as Artificial Intelligence, which is commonly abbreviated as AI, it is possible to determine and analyze the nature of the text as well as speech. 'Person of Interest', for instance, is a TV series available on 'Amazon Video' that demonstrates the use of Artificial intelligence in a central government's surveillance system to give out names of potential victims and perpetrators. Moreover, when we leverage software systems it can help automate daily tasks and provide us with extensive insights. For example, most modern cars, which are now equipped with IoT systems, allow the end-user to track the car as well as provide periodic notifications for the service of the car. However, in order to gain insights from the data it needs to be stored in a centralized system, such as a database. The storage of users' sensitive information at a centralized location is an idea resented by some, mainly because of the threats it brings in. One of them is the loss of users' confidential data, as hackers could gain unauthorized access and exploit the database. Additionally, storing data comes with the responsibility to be able to manage and maintain it periodically. Therefore, it is imperative that it should be handled by professionals who have a knack for technology. All in all, while the use of technology in tracking the activities of the common folk has multiple advantages, it certainly has its own shortcomings. In my opinion, if executed in a safe manner, keeping an eye on activities can turn out to be a boon. I would go as far as to say that the officials should act in a fastidious manner and deter criminal activities and accordingly serve to curtail any dissatisfaction amongst its citizens.