Some people think that famous people can help international aid organizations to draw attention to important problems. Others believe that the celebrities can make the problems seem less important.

Some people think that famous people can help international aid organizations to draw attention to important problems. Others believe that the celebrities can make the problems seem less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Some parts of the world, especially the developing countries need more help than others. Many celebrities have lent their hand and brought international attention and aid to support the local causes by highlighting them in the media, bringing significant financial aid, and encouraging volunteering. While, many people appreciate it, others however, are of the opinion that they can make the problem seem superfluous. This essay will examine whether celebrities are able to positively influence a cause or not. On the one hand, there have been plethora of examples where celebrities have walked the cause and have made organizations across the globe take cognizance of the plight and hardships that some people had to endure. To illustrate, the Australian Cricket team raised awareness around breast cancer by highlighting it in cricket matches. As a result of this, the McGrath Foundation for Breast Cancer received more than 10 million dollars of funding from global cricketing enthusiasts and organization. More often than note, thanks to media attention on celebrities many of such causes have received huge aids from international communities. On the other hand, there have been cases, where celebrities have jumped into supporting non-related causes and brought more harm than good. For example, the support that Great Thunberg, the young climate activist, provide to the Save Farmers campaign from India found little coherence with the causes she was supports. As a result, the campaign faced severe media and public backlash, and ultimately ended up weakening it. People find it difficult to support a cause when they find it difficult to make campaign connection to the protagonist. To conclude, while there are many instances where a celebrity support has propelled a campaign to great media attention and funding, there are equal number of examples, where celebrity involvement has softened the campaign. I believe, that while celebrity involvement is good, celebrities should have a moral obligation to get involved only in causes they really care about and are able to relate to, else, they will end up sabotaging the campaign and many people's hope with it.