Nowadays, more and more people want to travel to remote areas such as the south pole. Do the advantages of this type of travel outweigh the disadvantages

There are currently a great number of tourists deciding to visit distantdestinations such as the South Pole. While this trend is beneficial to some extent, I would argue that it has more drawbacks. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people should make ajourney to remote areas. Firstly, since travellers would experience new environments and cultures of these places, they could broaden their horizon and enhance their knowledge about parts of the world where very few people live. If they just live in their own nation, they will not know about other interesting things around the world. Secondly, because an increasing quantity of visitors travel remote lands, the tourism industry of these lands develops significantly. This would provide more job opportunities such as tour guide or hotel-keeper for local residents. On the other hand, this tendency has some negative influences. First, the living condition of remote places is extremely harsh, which would lead to dangerous incidents for travellers. For instance, the weather of the South Pole is very cold and has strong wind and ice year around, which costs people a great amount of money to prepare clothes as well as protective gear. Additionally, because constructing infrastructures for passengers might lead to reduction of natural lands, the habitats of wild animals such as penguins or Polar bears could be destroyed. This would contribute to the extinction of these rare species. Consequently, tourism could have a negative impact on the natural environment. In conclusion, while travelling to remote places can have several advantages, I believe that its disadvantages are greater.