Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Student's all over the world are assessed mostly, based on their academic performances. While some people believe that exams are a good source of evaluating a student's worth, others believe that, they merely subject young learners to irrelevant stress and do not really show their actual worth because, though exams assess the ability to retain information in the student's memory, it on the other hand, put students under strenuous conditions. Students who do well academically are often said to be bright kids. When a child does well in his exams, he is regarded as brilliant and gets a lot of recognition from both parents and teachers. Assessments help students to be focus and have targets, most times, determined students do well in their exams. Also, examination is a tool for future reference to a students academic activities. However, most students who did not really do well in school examinations are not always dullards. Sometimes, students go under a lot of stress in trying to prepare for an examination which some of the times, they did not really understood what was thought in the subject. So much emphases are been led on them, that when students do not pass, they are seen as unintelligible. A lot of people have survived outside the academic scope, a lot of students who dropped out of school due to poor results, later rediscovered their abilities in so many things. For example, mark Zuckerberg, the owner of Facebook, never finished his university studies but today, he lives fine and has introduced to the world one of the strongest social media platforms. Students should be encouraged to do other things too because, when they rely on their academic performance, they might not be able to explore to dormant talents in them. In conclusion, though exams helps in assessing a students level of retaining information at a given time, I still believe that the level of importance places on it should be reduced because a lot of qualities can still be seen in a student even when they did not do well academically.