Some people think that examinations have some bad effects on students. Some people say they do a good job in the evaluation of the students’ performance.

In the long history of human education, great changes have taken place in every field of study. However testing a person by examinations is still regarded as the only reliable and feasible method to measure one’s knowledge and ability. From elementary schools to universities, students have to take many examinations. They even regard examinations as an indispensable part of their life. Some people hold that examinations have negative impacts on students. First of all, examinations are unable to evaluate one’s true ability. They can only test memory or the skill of working rapidly under pressure. Secondly, examinations encourage bad study habits. Students tend to lay emphasis on what will be tested. They are encouraged to memorize rather than to think. Finally, examinations lower the standards of teaching. Teachers have to train students in exam techniques instead of teaching their subjects. Many other people, however, believe examinations have some advantages. In the first place, they serve as a driving force to stimulate students to work hard. Laziness is part of human nature. Without examinations, students tend to ignore their studies. Moreover, the results of examinations are just like mirrors for both students and teachers. Students can assess themselves and teachers can adjust their teaching method according to the information they obtain from examination. Finally, till now no better methods have been discovered to replace examinations. Other forms of assessment are too time-consuming and therefore are infeasible. In my opinion, examinations have positive effects on teaching. They make students hard­ working. They also provide a clear objective standard by which the students can assess themselves and teachers can know what they should do next. Furthermore, at present no better methods are available. Therefore, I am sure examinations will continue to play an essential role in education.