Some people think that every country should produce the food thier population eats and import less food. To what extent you agree or disagree

Each and every country should produce as much as food instead of spending money to get food items from outside, inorder to meet the requirements of its population. I agree a large extent to this. According to certain people, its thier country's responsibility to satisfy the population. Firstly, it improves the country's wealth. When people start to cultivate crops and distribute it to the needy, a part of it adds to the economy and there will be no scarcity. If they produce as much as food items they can, the profit will be more than importing it. Additionally the people who are suffering from poverty can he helped. Secondly, there can be chances for any difficulties during the transportation of food items from one country to another. This may be either due to the technical aspects or due to climatic factors. In such situations, the country which export these items will not be able to meet the requirements of other country. Under these circumstances, the people which depends on these imported items will greatly suffer. For instance, India is a country which import certain food items like fishes from its neighbouring country. However during covid lockdown all the boundaries closed and there weren't able to get enough food. This was a crucial situation because it made many people into hard situation. Besides this, importing is essential in some areas where its geographic features doesn't allow them to cultivate. In such situations the only choice is to depend on other countries. So these reasons cannot be neglected. In my opinion, it is better to produce food required for the population by the country itself. It not only improve the country's growth but helps many people to eradicate poverty. To conclude, food production is far better than importing. Every country should produce resources for thier citizens and should rely less on other countries for food.