Some people think that education purpose is to prepare individuals to be useful for society. Others its purpose is to prepare individuals to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The main purpose of education has always been a debatable topic. From one point of view, we are nothing without each other, therefore we should learn how to ease another person’s burden and be useful in society. From another perspective, it is up to an individual which job to choose, especially in our age of individualism, when our needs have a bigger gravity than anything else, so school and universities should satisfy our individual needs. I nevertheless believe that education should not opt for extremities, and both of this options can converge. We live in the time of globalization, when many problems that we face with demand an immediate action, were it be pollution or social inequality. And these can be tackled only by common efforts, for one person is powerless in the face of society. Many dedicate their lives to solving such issues, and even though their contributions make it up at the grassroots levels, their overall achievement is of a greater value. This is the way of thinking of those who believe that being a useful member of society is our main duty as a human being. And education, in their point of view, should bring up such altruistic pursuits, for it is the only way to make a world a better place. Soviet Union is a great example of education nurturing useful members of society. Our individualistic pursuits, on the other hand, should also be taken into consideration. World is not black and white, that is why it is a wrongdoing to label people who want to stand out in their deeds. Everybody has their own beliefs and world views, and they will not have job satisfaction when working for communal purposes. Thomas Edison, for example, despite all his attainment, was an egotistical person with entrepreneurial views. He gave our world many great things that changed it forever, but he was enabled to do so only when having an opportunity to evolve for himself, not thinking of global problems. That is why education needs to think of children as individuals rather than mere dummies that will serve whatever purpose they are given. In my opinion, we should not see education as a means serving one purpose. Different school subjects have various goals. Only by having variety of options to choose from can child develop in all aspects. And later in their life they can pursue whatever aims they have. And who knows if their egotistical ideas will reshape the world for the better. To sum up, education can not have one supreme purpose. It can both nurture useful members of society and satisfy individual pursuits too. Since it is every person’s choice what direction to pick, no one can take their human rights away from them