As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages.

In the new era of rapid globalization languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin are becoming more widely used, while a large number of minority languages is on the brick of dying out. Some countries decided to take steps to try and conserve those languages and I think it is a great practice and more countries should protect endangered tongues. Every language has a long-lasting history and is essential part of peoples heritage. In other words, every language is a valuable part of a culture and its extinction will inevitably damage this culture. As a result of it many traditional songs, poems and stories can go missing, and people will not have a chance to explore and learn from it. For instance, my first language is Kazakh language and even though it is not dying out, it is clearly losing its popularity among young people, because they think it is irrelevant. If one day it will be forgotten our folklore will follow suit. It addition, an extinction of a language will lead to losing important information this language possesses. Every society tries to learn more about its environment but if a tongue will disappear, every piece of knowledge in it will disappear too. For example, books, articles and other society’s wisdom will be gone. To sum up, I think that countries should put a lot of effort to protect minority languages, because they are a part of different cultures and contain a lot of useful information.