Some people think that developments involving the Internet have brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is generally thought the internet has been able to connect people who are far apart, while others argue that its use can lead to social isolation or confinement. I think the use of modern technology especially the internet has become more common and it has changed the way we communicate. On the one hand, some people believe that during the last two decades, there have been many tech developments and advancements surrounding internet, which bring convenience to all and I agree. In the past, we only used mail or the telephone to send our messages across the globe, whereas today, the internet allows us to reach out to almost everyone in just a few seconds. To cite an example, the inconvenience of long distances is eliminated through Facebook, Twitter or Skype as we can talk and even see distant friends or relatives for an unlimited time. On the other hand, many feel that some individuals tend to spend a lot of their time surfing the internet or on different social sites platforms. Communities meet online via private Facebook groups, instead of in a community hall to discuss matters. This does not allow them to socialise physically with people and develop their interpersonal skills. For instance, a study from 2015 by The Times of India showed that teenagers have reduced their face to face interaction by 63% with their family and friends as they interact with them only on social networking sites. In conclusion, it is a fact that the internet has brought more convenience into society and allowed many people to be closer. However, people should take responsibility to balance the use of the internet so that other aspects of their lives will not become neglected.