New technologies have changed the way for children to spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of technology has never ceased to have a tremendous impact on human's life. New inventions have converted the lifestyle of young children, especially how they utilize their free time. It is my firm conviction that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, with the aid of new technologies, children can spend their free time usefully on the Internet and be unconsciously accustomed to technological applications. In other words, children are benefited from the source of information on mobile devices and get used to the tools which aid their future work. According to pewresearch. org, among the 79% of Americans who are online, the internet is an even more significant source for local news and information. This means that the Internet has been a dominant source of information; therefore, children are fully capable of widening their knowledge. Moreover, in a research by Researchgate, the factors which decide a child's ability to search successfully appear to be the amount of experience the child had of using the internet and the use of the tools available for doing so. This directly suggests that spending free time in using technology offers some considerable advantages to the children. On the other hand, the negative impact of new technologies to children's current lifestyle outweigh the advantages since they lead to a sedentary lifestyle and chronic health issues. To be more specific, children who are over-reliant to technologies do not exercise or go out and tend to suffer obesity, back pain or short-sightedness. In the past, most children went outside to play with friends or involved in sport practice as a way of entertainment; whereas youngsters nowadays are lacking an active and dynamic lifestyle. A research by Common Sense Media Report indicates that 59 percent of parents surveyed believe that kids are addicted to their devices. This negative tendency leads to chronic illness such as acute myelitis or short-sightedness when children spend their time excessively on technological devices. What can be inferred from this is that a sedentary lifestyle and chronic diseases are the reasons why new technologies bring more downsides to children's lifestyle nowadays. In conclusion, how children use their free time in this highly developed technology era has immensely negative effects that overweigh the benefits. Thus, children should be allowed to take advantage of new technologies while adopting a dynamic and healthy lifestyle.