Some people think that couples should live together before getting married. What is your opinion?

In recent years, cohabitation has become a widespread phenomenon. It is believed that living together should be tried before marriage. Despite some repercussions the trend may pose, the values attached to it are more desirable. As for the negatives, cohabitation is likely to instill participants the mindset to treat a relationship with trial and error. Alarming is the fact that without commitment, participants tend to give up rather than make attempts to heal the relationship in time of turmoil. Moreover, the trial tendency is at odds with many cultures. Updated research has indicated that the young who used to live together with their lovers are probably treated with disdain by the community due to defamed personal image. On the other hand, one of the greatest positive sides of cohabitation is primarily the exploration of deep - rooted values. It is obvious that as a trial run for marriage, it enables adults to discover their partners’ characteristics, hobbies and quirks. Only by this can they identify whether the couple is appropriate for further steps, namely marriage. Along with that, equally beneficial is more opportunities to practice negotiation. Take financial conflicts involving accomodation and food cost as the most convincing illustration for this. Only by living together can these living bills be negotiated which probably avoids argument during marriage. In conclusion, although cohabitation is detrimental in some aspects, it is my view that the benefits are more encouraging. The decision as to live together before marriage should be assessed on a case of different situations and characteristics.