Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time.

Reading books has never brought harm to any of us. And it is the thing that children might get used to from very young age. Their interest to reading starts with small books where some fantastic events are described in order to make a child pay attention to it. However, there are plenty of other activities that contribute significantly to the development of a child. Such activities are various kinds of sports, outdoor games, drawing or painting. To begin with, despite the crucial role of lately mentioned aspects, they can’t overweight the influence of reading from early years. If sports have a great effect on our health state, reading is considered to be the foundation for literacy and mental development. Even if the stories in the books have nothing to do with reality and merely represent the results of the author’s imagination, it doesn’t still reduce the importance of the skills and knowledge obtained by regular reading. In addition, reading story books will enhance their language skills and provide great vocabulary. In some cases, excess reading tears a child away from the real world, making him antisocial as the result of minimized interest in sports or other activities. This problem is going to deepen during the years. So, the reasonable solution is to combine the imaginary world with the real one, giving him myriad options of activity choice. All in all, arts and sports have a crucial role in our lives. However, we shouldn’t underrate the importance of reading, as all the activities have their special function for the forming of an individual.